Scrapbooking: Tips and Tricks

Hello, lovelies!

I see scrapbooking as a fun, creative way to record my favourite memories and wanted to share my love for it! I’ve been doing it since 2015 and aim to fill one every year, so am starting my third at the moment. I didn’t think I would stick to it, but I love reminiscing and it’s a good way to be creative whilst being productive. There are no ‘wrong’ ways to scrapbook because they are completely personal, but there are so many different approaches it can be overwhelming. This is my basic approach to scrapbooking, because lets face it I do not have beautifully swirly calligraphy or the money to invest in a full scrapbooking regime. So instead I have created my own little techniques and styles over the years and these are a couple of tips/ products to help you start or develop your scrapbooks:

1. Choosing the scrapbook! This is a big choice- what size? page colour? Do you wanna decorate your own cover? Or already have a patterned one? Do you want pockets and page dividers? Usually when you see the one, you just know. All of mine have been from Paperchase because I really like the designs and they regularly bring out new ones. Also consider what colour scheme you want on the inside and if you want them to match the cover… sounds obsessive I know BUT I got a really brightly covered one then realised I wanted a pastel colour scheme so I took it back! Ugh, the drama haha!

2. How to make it look pretty: Well once you’ve got the actual scrapbook you can look into how you want to decorate the pages. Firstly, I would recommend the ‘Cropping Block’ paper packs from Paperchase which are essentially just pages of coloured paper- they’re only £2.50! These can be used to layer under photos to give them a frame, to write captions on or even create little envelopes to keep trinkets safe. Washi tape is another option for framing- I usually use a mixture of both! I love Washi tape, its basically just pretty tape but it lifts the pages and makes it look more ‘put together’. Again you can get different designs at Paperchase, John Lewis, Hobbycraft and lots of places, especially cute independent craft stores!

3. Photos: I find the best way to get my photos printed is using the app ‘Free Prints’ because you get 45 free every month. There are lots of different sites though and many have voucher codes or offers online. Usually, I accumulate the photos until it is worth paying to print out them in bulk which makes it cheaper when you have to pay for postage and packaging.

4. Using your phone: I find that my phone is one of the key things I need for my scrapbooking, and not just because I use it to take all my photos! I use the ‘Notes’ section to keep an ongoing list of the dates and activities I want to scrapbook so I don’t forget anything. Also creating an ongoing ‘scrapbooking’ photo album, so that you can just add a couple of photos on the way home from a day out, then when you come to print your photos you won’t have missed any. If you want to be super fancy you can edit pictures on your phone, I usually just use ‘Instagram’, even just to edit not just post, or the app VSCO. There are lots of options for editing, some more advanced than others, be careful not to over-do it though because you don’t want your images to become pixelated when printing!

5. Little extras: I use double-sided tape to stick in my photos because it gives the most seamless finish and secures them properly. Glue dots or Pritt Stick are good options too, the glue makes it a bit messier but is probably more cost effective. Also I like to invest in some pretty pens, usually metallic ones that fit my colour scheme! I tend not to write that much other than the title of each page (Date and Place) and maybe a caption or thought from the day. If you are more into the writing then maybe metallic isn’t the best option because it can be a bit smudgey/ difficult to read. Finally, the postcards from Paperchase really brighten pages and make it seem more ‘Pinterest’. They are about 70p and they have different phrases, jokes or pretty pictures on and they can help fill in gaps or are a cute way to illustrate holidays, like Christmas! Also postcards when you visit somewhere are lovely or little souvenirs such as parking tickets, food wrappers or leaflets add personal touches to your scrapbook!

Hopefully these have given you some ideas for your own scrapbook! One of the best things about scrapbooking is that it should never be a chore, it’s just a hobby and if I don’t feel like doing it then that’s okay too. Once you start though the sense of nostalgia when looking back is really rewarding. Also don’t compare your scrapbook to these ‘perfect’ ones you see on YouTube or Pinterest- which is so difficult! Mine is so far from perfect and there have been times when I’ve ripped out pages because I thought my handwriting looks childish or the pictures aren’t stuck in straight. These little quirks are what makes your scrapbook yours, the happiness within the photos, souvenirs and words are what makes it ‘perfect’. Let me know any of your scrapbooking tips, I’d love to develop mine for 2017.

Happy scrapbooking,

Amy💖

 

One thought on “Scrapbooking: Tips and Tricks

Leave a Reply

