YA Summer Reading Recommendations

Hello,

In my Shake up your Summer post I talked about reading as a hobby that you could consider taking up during the sunnier months. So following on from that I wanted to share a few of the books I enjoyed last Summer, that you should consider trying this year! I’m mainly into YA/ Chick-lit books, so if you’re into a similar genre then you are definitely going to find some gems in here. I’m kind of into fantasy too… well Hunger Games haha so sometimes I look for similar series but haven’t found anything to beat those books yet. Hopefully one of these 3 tickle your fancy:

  • The Sun is Also a Star, Nicola Yoon: I read this REALLY quickly last Autumn, which is unlike me because I can be pretty slow and easily side-tracked, so it MUST be good! The story follows Natasha and Daniel’s story from a variety of perspectives, but it is clear to follow and is such an innovative way of story-telling. ‘Everything Everything’ is one of my favourite books, Nicola’s debut novel, and I would DEFINITELY recommend giving both a go if you haven’t already. \
  • The Red Queen Series, Victoria Aveyard: These books are much more for the fantasy fans, it is very much Hunger Games-esque. There is some magic, romance and I thought the plot was very unpredictable! I’m looking forward to reading more of the series, I think there are 3 out at the moment.
  • The Potion Diaries Series, Amy Alward: I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this book because I thought it might be a little bit young BUT I loved it! It is VERY magical, I would say it is more of a teenage fairytale with love. I’m really looking forward to the third one which is out this summer AND a majorly good thing about these books is the really pretty covers.

I think I’m going to leave it with these 3 different options for now because most of my other suggestions are a bit unoriginal! Basically, most of Zoella’s first book club in summer 2016 are worth a read and Giovanna Fletcher’s books are guaranteed to make you fall in love. Other places to look for books are on goodreads, Amazon or YouTube where you can look for a specific genre and look at books similar to your tastes. I’m looking for some new books for this year now, so let me know any of your recommendations below!

Happy reading,

Amy

2 thoughts on “YA Summer Reading Recommendations

Leave a Reply

