Beauty Products I Regret Buying

Happy Monday!

I LOVE reading and watching people’s ‘Products I Regret Buying’ and ‘YouTube Made Me Buy It’ posts, so I thought I would share some of the products that I will not be buying again. Blogs and YouTube are obviously all about sharing the good products but I think it can be just as worthwhile seeing what to steer clear of too. I’ve already posted a Hits and Misses: Concealer Edition and a Hits and Misses: Mascara Edition which you can check out to see what concealers and mascara’s I regret buying. Here I am going to share some other beauty bits that I wouldn’t re-purchase/ shouldn’t have bought the first time:

  • Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Mascara, £5.90: I know some people have really liked this product, but it made my eyebrows all crispy! The wand shape was really strange because it is really rounded and I just don’t think that worked on my brows. The colour also seemed to clump on some of my brow hairs so there was an uneven distribution- which I think was because of the weird brush shape! It just simply didn’t work for me and I much prefer the Rimmel Brow This Way Gel, which I now use in clear because this Maybelline one really put me off using coloured brow gels in the future.
  • KIKO Kiss Balms: I couldn’t find these on the website now BUT there are some lip balms that look suspiciously similar just in different packaging- I haven’t tried them though so I can’t comment. However, I’ve tried multiple Kiss Balms when I was younger I was really drawn in by the cute name and packaging. They were very strange though because they are so oily, like after one use the stick would go down SO much- I could have used to0 much but you needed to in order to build up the colour. They did contain A LOT of glitter, not just shimmer, which was the look I was more into (lol) but this was one of the reasons I got rid of ALL of these and would definitely not recommend them… unless glittery, oily lips are your thing.
  • Max Factor Excess Shimmer in Copper, £7.99: Now this cream shade is not THE worst, but it just didn’t do much and for almost £8 at the drugstore I expected a lot more. I bought this after loving the Maybelline 24hour Colour Tattoo’s and was on a real cream shadow hype, but this wasn’t half as good. It’s a lot more of a gel consistency which kind of creased more on my eyelids and although it blended well, it tended to blend into quite a sheer colour which was not what I expected. Sometimes on a really natural day I pop this on but very rarely and I think I could have spent my money better elsewhere and stuck with the Maybelline ones.
  • Bourgeois Rouge Edition Velvet in ‘Happy Nude Year’, £8.99: I really wanted to love these and would like to try the Aqua ones, but the matte ones were not enjoyable. They really wore off in a weird way that made my lips looks so strange, they created the white line thing- I don’t know if other people get this with matte liquid lipsticks?! Basically, it is not a good look- 10/10 do not recommend. If you are more use to the feeling of wearing this type of lip product you might enjoy these but for someone pretty new to this, it was not an enjoyable experience.

Hopefully you enjoyed this post, obviously these products might work differently on you and I am CLEARLY not an expert so it could just be me using them wrong!

See you for another post on Wednesday at 10am,

Amy

3 thoughts on “Beauty Products I Regret Buying

  1. I have a Bourjois lip colour in the shade Frambourjoise and it is a firm favourite! The Excess Shimmer in Copper is also one of my most used products! It doesn’t crease and lasts all day on me and I much prefer it to Maybelline’s Colour Tattoos – I found them dry and difficult to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woah! At least this is proof that they work differently with other people! I agree that the Excess Shimmers are a lot wetter, I think I just found the drier Maybelline ones easier to blend and keep the colour vivid. I’ve heard lots of people loving those Bourjois products too, maybe I need to try another shade… any excuse haha! Thank you for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

