Kindle Paperwhite: Is it worth it?

Happy Book Lovers day,

I thought it would be fitting for me to talk about my new Kindle Paperwhite, which I have had for about a month now. I was majorly torn about whether to purchase one because I love an actual book, like a physical sniff the pages book. SO I thought this little review/ chat would help anyone looking into buying a Kindle or who just love books and were looking for a couple of recommendations too! I’ve specifically tailored this post towards the Kindle Paperwhite because that’s the one I have but some of these points can be applied to other e-readers.

Advantages of a Kindle Paperwhite

  • It makes it really easy to read at night because it comes with a back light which has made reading in bed 100x easier! The brightness is always adjustable and has a wide range of options, so there really is nowhere that you can’t read it.
  • The best thing about the Kindle is that it can store LOADS of books but is SO tiny! I do have a case on mine which makes it slightly bulkier but generally it is pretty small and cute. It fits into all my bags and allows me to carry loads of books which would be almost impossible if I bought them all as physical paperbacks.
  • A real benefit of having a Kindle, for me, has been that it encourages me to read A LOT more. This is down to a few reasons like the portability of it, the cheapness of the books and the fact that you can’t see how thick the book is! There is also the minutes left in each chapter and the book in the bottom corner (which you can turn off!) so it makes books go really quick!
  • I love the recommendation tool on the Kindle too and without it I wouldn’t have read some of the books that I have! It takes books you’ve read and suggests a large range of similar books and there are so many different tools to help you find a new book.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Disadvantages of a Kindle 

  • The initial cost is probably it’s biggest disadvantage and one that is completely avoidable if you stick with books. The usual cost is £109.99 but I bought it on Amazon Prime Day for £79.99 which was not as bank breaking. It’s still a lot of money BUT the books are cheaper than buying them physically and the prices are generally always being reduced with many titles being just 99p.
  • The fact that they’re not physical books… which I won’t lie does get me sometimes. Just tapping to change the page is a bit weird and the fact that the covers aren’t in colour is a bit strange too but these little things I just have to try and look past. I do miss bookmarks as well! BUT, I am still going to buy some literal books.

Top 3 books I’ve read on my Kindle so far

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr: I’ve already spoken about this in my July Favourites 2017 so I won’t go on BUT I really think is worth the hype! It’s such an interesting book that tackles topics that I’ve not really read about before. It is fast paced and has a nice balance between thrills, romance and character interaction.
  • Lying about Last Summer by Sue Wallman: This is a bit more of a thriller YA that follows a girl on summer camp for bereaved teens. It is definitely not as sweet as the other two books but I really enjoyed it- if you enjoyed ‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart I’m pretty sure you will LOVE this.
  • 99 Days by Katie Cotugno: This is probably the most light-hearted out of these three books and is much more of a YA romance. The main character cheated on her boyfriend with his brother and now she has to deal with all the aftermath because her mum wrote a book about it all! It is definitely a chilled summer read that will be a good one for on holiday.

I hope that this post has been helpful or at least interesting about the Kindle and books in general! It’s completely up to you and your reading habits, but just remember having a Kindle doesn’t mean I’m never buying a book again. If you’re unsure like I was then I would suggest waiting until Amazon has some sales, like on Black Friday, to allow you to feel less guilty if the price is holding you back. So I would definitely say don’t rule it out, even though I did for a few years, now it has really helped me get back into reading.

If you have any YA or Chick-Lit suggestions please leave them below, I’m always looking for books to add to my TBR list!

Happy reading,

Amy💖

Leave a Reply

